Assembly of Delegates

Welcome to the Assembly page!

The AMTA Assembly of Delegates is the legislative and policy-making body of the Association. Its primary purpose is to reflect the interests and needs of the membership regarding how the Association operates. The Assembly receives and acts upon legislation from the general membership (that’s you!), the Council Coordinators, the AMTA Board of Directors, and from its own members. Assembly meetings occur at each annual AMTA conference and all are welcome to attend. Assembly Delegates are seated by region at these meetings. The size of the delegation of each region is determined by the membership of the region and Delegates are elected by their regional membership. This is just one more reason why Association membership is so important: the bigger our region is, the bigger our voice is in deciding policy. Currently, the MAR is seating 15 Delegates, along with Alternates. If you are interested in learning more about the Assembly, please contact the current MAR Assembly Chair, Donna Polen, at:

2018-2019 MAR ASSEMBLY

DELEGATES, listed alphabetically

Elaine Abbott

1. Elaine Abbott

Mark Ahola

2. Mark Ahola

Clare Arezina,

3. Clare Arezina

Gene Ann Behrens

4. Gene Ann Behrens

5. Beth Deyermond

5. Beth Deyermond

6. Hahna, Nicole

6. Nicole Hahna

Scott Horowitz

7. Scott Horowitz

Flossie Ierardi

8. Flossie Ierardi

9. Meadows, Anthony

9. Anthony Meadows

10. Neal, Julie

10. Julie Neal

11. Oswanski, Leah

11. Leah Oswanski

12. Donna Polen

13. Sutton, Brigette

13. Brigette Sutton

14. Gary Verhagen

14. Gary Verhagen

14. Viega, Mike

15. Mike Viega 




ALTERNATES, in order of being called

1. Andrea Hunt

1. Andrea Hunt

2. Tracy Wanamaker

2. Tracy Wanamaker

3. Kate Myers-Coffman

3. Kate Myers-Coffman

7. Robert Miller

4. Robert Miller

10. Walborn, Melanie

5. Melanie Walborn

6. Laurie Keough

6. Laurie Keough

7. Katie Myers

7. Katie Myers

14. Gimeno, Maria Montserrat

8. Maria Montserrat Gimeno

12. Milgram-Luterman, Joni

9. Joni Milgram-Luterman

10. Holliday, Mary Claire

10. Mary Claire Holliday

11. Bryan Muller

11. Bryan Muller

12. Carol Ann Blank

12. Carol Ann Blank

13. Tom Gerni,

13. Tom Gerni

14. Josh Schrader

14. Josh Schrader



















AMTA Bylaws

Article VII.   Assembly of Delegates

Section 1.   An Assembly of Delegates, hereinafter referred to as the Assembly, is the legislative and policy-making body of the Association. The Assembly receives and acts upon legislation from the general membership, the Council Coordinators, the Board of Directors, and its own members.

Section 2.   The Assembly is composed of professional members elected by and from the regional organizations within the Association. The number of delegates in the Assembly is in proportion to the number of national professional members in the respective regions. Each region has a minimum of two delegates. The exact number of delegates from each region is established by the Board of Directors for each election year prior to the regional meetings. The size of the Assembly is established by the Board of Directors within a numerical range of 60 to 70 delegates.

Section 3.   The regional organizations elect their delegates prior to the national meeting in odd-numbered years.

Section 4.   For each delegate position authorized, the region elects a primary and an alternate delegate, the alternate to function in the event of the unavailability of the primary delegate.

Section 5.   The delegates’ term of office is 2 years to coincide with the terms of the national officers. The limits of consecutive terms may be set at each region’s discretion.

Section 6.   The Assembly, at the national conference held in an odd-numbered year, elects four members to serve on the Board of Directors and then elects one of these four to serve as Speaker of the Assembly and one of these four to serve as the Assistant Speaker of the Assembly. The term on the Board coincides with the 2-year term of the national officers.  The Assembly also elects four alternate delegates, an alternate to function in the event of the unavailability of a primary delegate. Assembly delegates and alternate delegates may not serve concurrently in any other office on the Board of Directors.  In the event of the resignation of a primary delegate from the Board, the alternate with the highest number of votes will succeed to the position, and the person with the next highest number of votes will succeed to the alternate delegate position.

Section 7.   The Speaker of the Assembly is the presiding officer of the Assembly of Delegates and, with the President and the Assistant Speaker, prepares the agenda for the Assembly meetings, with approval of the Board of Directors. The Assistant Speaker presides at its meetings in the absence of the Speaker. A vacancy in the Speaker’s position is filled by the Assistant Speaker.  A vacancy in the Assistant Speaker’s position is filled by the Assembly at its next meeting.


MAR Bylaws

Article VII – Assembly of Delegates

Section 1. The Regional Delegates elected to the AMTA Assembly of Delegates shall attend all business meetings of the Assembly and represent the interests of the Region.

Section 2. Delegates and Alternates shall commit themselves to attendance at all regional business meetings, as well as regional and national conferences during their term of office. If a Delegate cannot attend a national conference, he/she shall inform the Assembly Chair at least one (1) month prior to the conference so that the Assembly Chair may ensure that an Alternate attend in the Delegate’s place. The Assembly Chair may at the time of the annual Assembly of Delegates substitute an active Mid-Atlantic member for an absentee Delegate or Alternate.

Section 3 . The Delegates and Alternates shall be elected by secret ballot as outlined in Article VI, Section 3. In odd-numbered years, the Assembly Delegates and Alternates shall elect one Delegate to serve as Assembly Chair in an email vote coordinated by the Immediate Past President within one (1) month following the annual AMTA conference. Current voting members of the Executive Board, as well as Alternate Delegates, shall be deemed ineligible to serve as Assembly Chair.

Section 4. The term of office for Regional Delegates shall be two (2) years.